Views of Leamington Spa in Old Postcards
An early aerial view of the town showing the Parade in the centre, the Pump Rooms lower left, St. Peter's Church left centre, the Town Hall clock tower right and in the distance the spire of St. Alban's Church and the tower of St. Mark's Church.
Occupying a prominent location on the Parade, the hotel was considered to be the largest in Europe when completed in 1819.
Cundall's iconic, yet idiosyncratic, gesture to civic pride, completed in 1884.
Holy Trinity Church
This church stands in Beauchamp Avenue and was built in 1847 to serve the ever expanding area at the north of the new town.
St. Peter's RC Church
Dating from 1864, the church replaced that in George Street which the congregation had outgrown.
An iconic view of Leamington Spa with Christ Church providing a focal point at the top of The Parade
David Squirhill's idiosyncratic design of the 1840s which served first as a school, then a convent before reinstatement as a school. Now converted to residential accommodation.
A quiet scene with the Theatre Royal on the left.
View from Lower Parade with Christ Church just visible at the top of the Parade.
Warwick Street & St. Albans Church
St. Albans Church dating from 1877 was noted for its green copper spire. This is a coloured postcard with the artist seemingly unaware of this fact. The church was originally a chapel dedicated to St Michael and All Angels. It was demolished in 1964.
St. Mary's Church
Once known as St. Mary in the Fields due to its semi-rural location. Building commenced in 1839 as the town was spreading out towards the south-east. The land was provided by Edward Willes.
All Saints Parish Church
Electric trams appear in this view of Leamington's large parish church.
The Lower Parade with the Town Hall on the right.
The Pump Rooms are located on the left with the Jephson Gardens on the right.
The riverside walk which is part of the green corridor following the course of the River Leam.
Adelaide Road Bridge
View from Victoria Park. This bridge dates from 1850 and is an important crossing point of the river.
Alongside Dormer Place
Pump Room Gardens
Pump Room Gardens
Sunday afternoon band concerts were very popular for many years.
Postcard showing the tower and pediment added to the Pump Rooms in alterations by John Cundall.
This bridge provides the main link over the river between the old town and the new town. It was built in 1809 but has been widened and extended since then.
Boating remains a popular pastime on the river although it now takes place upstream beyond the weir.
Mill Bridge and Weir
The bridge is a pedestrian bridge, dating from 1903, at a time of river improvements.
View showing the ornamental lake, the Willes obelisk, erected in honour of Edward Willes who owned the site of the gardens and the Corinthian Temple housing a statue of Henry Jephson.
St Paul's Church
Designed by John Cundall, architect of St. John's, the Hitchman Fountain and the Town Hall. It was built in 1874.
St. John's Church
Designed by John Cundall, architect of St. Paul's, the Hitchman Fountain and the Town Hall. It was built in 1877 and the similarity with St. Paul's is notable.
A view from the 1950s with little traffic to be seen.
The Midland Oak
A local landmark sadly gone.